Beyonce’s Lemonade: A Visual Album of Identity and Vulnerability

beyonce-lemonade-cameos-zendaya-serena-williams-04

How do I even begin to explain Beyonce’s visual and cathartic film Lemonade? Truth is my description will pale in comparison to what the woman did, but I’ll try.

Attempt to describe Lemonade: It is a blend of  beautiful visuals, poetic lyrics, and profound poetry addressing the strength, resilience, apathy, vulnerability and courage women experience and endure generation after generation in forming their identity and in dealing with love.

 

FF to 38:30 to hear Sandcastle-a ballad of forgiveness, desperation and heartbreak; it’s a beautifully devastating song for anyone who has been hurt by the love of their life.

FF to 30:00 to hear Daddy Lessons-a good country song, yes country, BK is from Texas after all.

Watch the film.

Some of the best lines from Lemonade:

“You can taste the dishonesty/It’s all over your breath as you pass it off so cavalier.”

Why are you afraid of love? You think it’s not possible for someone like you. But you are the love of my life. You are the love of my life. You are the love of my life.

“I tried to make a home out of you, but doors lead to trapped doors, a stairway leads to nothing.”

So, what are you gonna say at my funeral now that you’ve killed me? Here lies the body of the love of my life, whose heart I broke without a gun to my head. Here lies the mother of my children, both living and dead. Rest in peace, my true love, who I took for granted.

“Nothing else ever seems to hurt like the smile on your face/ When it’s only in my memory/It don’t hit me quite the same…”

She sleeps all day. Dreams of you in both worlds.

“Your mother is a woman. And women like her can can’t be contained.”

You’re the magician. Pull me back together again, the way you cut me in half. Make the woman in doubt disappear. Pull the sorrow from between my legs like silk. Knot after knot after knot. The audience applauds… but we can’t hear them.

“What is it about you I can’t erase.”

“They don’t love you like I love you/ What a wicked way to treat the girl that loves you.”

“I smell you secret, and I’m not too perfect/ To ever feel this worthless…”

“When you hurt me, you hurt yourself/ Don’t hurt yourself.”

“Found the truth beneath your lies
 / And true love never has to hide/I’ll trade your broken wings for mine.”

“You are terrifying and strange and beautiful,”

Leave a Reply

